Akshat Bhatt on the Jury of Dezeen Awards

Dezeen Awards

Featured on: Dezeen Awards

Akshat Bhatt, founder and principal at Architecture Discipline, is on the jury of the Dezeen Awards 2022. He joins an eminent panel of judges including Sou Fujimoto, Rossana Hu, Tom Kundig, Yasmeen Lari, Hans Ulrich Obrist and Vicky Richardson.

Bhatt graduated from the TVB School of Habitat Studies in 2002, following which he studied at the University of East London under Peter Salter & Michelle Roelofsma. He has also worked with Penoyre & Prasad, and Jeff Kahane & Associates in London.

Architecture Discipline aspires to create environments that foster happiness and a sense of optimism for the future, bringing value to people’s lives and work. The practice’s work is driven by a context-centric, rational approach of ideation, which is then defined and developed by a highly technical outlook with a focus on flexibility and longevity.

AD’s portfolio spans varied typologies from interior projects, residences and workspaces, retail and hospitality projects, to large-scale public and commercial assignments. Notable projects include the multi award-winning Mana hotel in Ranakpur, Rajasthan (2013); the Discovery Centre, a town hall for the Bhartiya City township in Bengaluru (2014), the India Pavilion at the Hannover Messe in Germany (2015) which was adjudged the best pavilion in the 65-year history of the Messe, and the Corporate Headquarters for East India Hotels.

The studio’s work also includes explorations in art and installations, furniture, and product design and is highly acclaimed with features in leading global magazines and journals with several award wins including the 2021 Elle Deco International.